City Hatters began trading as a hat shop under the clocks at Flinders Street station in 1910.
Originally it was the station master's office when Flinders Street station was built and after this the builder used the office when the master moved upstairs. It became a hat shop owned and managed by the Buzolich family and called Buzolich's. Doug Buzolich was one of five brothers who owned 4 shops in Melbourne and one in Geelong . The one remaining was the Flinders Street shop.
HB's acquired Buzolich's in 1927. Wallace, Buck (of Henry Bucks fame) & Goodes were major suppliers and Henry Buck himself acquired the business after a friendly exchange of assets and debts and have owned and managed the store ever since.
In 1934 Bill Littlehales became the manager and buyer and worked there for over 50 years and was one of the last of the legendary great hatters, retiring finally in 1990. Craig Cochrane now buys and manages for this iconic shop and is well known to thousands of his customers.